Day 6. Looking up

I’m definitely starting to feel better now. And here’s an amazing thing that made me feel fantastic….

This was arranged by a friend of mine from work who has a friend that lives in my apartment block. What an amazing and lovely thing to do! I was quite emotional about it when I picked it up outside my door this morning. Thank-you so much!

It just shows that although this situation has brought the ugly side out of some people, it has brought out the best in so many more people as well. The food was bought by a friend of a friend, she doesn’t even know me, and she refused payment for it. It did make me shed a tear or two I will happily admit. 😊

The weather is fantastic today as well, which always helps, and I’ve been on my balcony again. The streets below me are fairly quiet, certainly fewer cars around, but there’s plenty of people walking around, mostly in maximum groups of two so I guess that is still allowed under the new regime.

And of course I’ve got less than two days to go!… assuming of course that I go rushing out of the flat at 1:30am. That’s possible, since the last two nights I’ve hardly slept, with the limb aches still keeping me awake every night. Can’t wait until they go!

Blood types

I read a really interesting article about how people different blood types respond to the Coronavirus. It seems when the Chinese analysed people in hospital with the virus, the percentage with type A exceeded the amount in the general population, and the percentage with type O was lower than what you would expect….

In the study, scientists looked at the blood types of 2,173 people who had been diagnosed with COVID-19 and compared that with the blood types of the general population in that region.

They found that in the normal population, type A was 31 percent, type B was 24 percent, type AB was 9 percent, and type O was 34 percent.

In those with the virus, type A was 38 percent, type B was 26 percent, type AB was 10 percent, and type O was 25 percent.

The researchers concluded that “blood group A had a significantly higher risk for COVID-19 compared with non-A blood groups. Whereas blood group O had a significantly lower risk for the infectious disease compared with non-A blood groups.”

I’m blood type A! 😒 Oh well! 😄

GoodSAM

I guess everyone has now seen this call for volunteers by now. It’s fantastic and something I’ll definitely be signing up for once I’m back to health.

There are four different roles you can volunteer for:

  • Community Response volunteer: This role involves collecting shopping, medication or other essential supplies for someone who is self-isolating, and delivering these supplies to their home.
  • Patient Transport volunteer: This role supports the NHS by providing transport to patients who are medically fit for discharge, and ensuring that they are settled safely back in to their home.
  • NHS Transport volunteer: This role involves transporting equipment, supplies and/or medication between NHS services and sites, it may also involve assisting pharmacies with medication delivery.
  • Check-in and Chat volunteer: This role provides short-term telephone support to individuals who are at risk of loneliness as a consequence of self-isolation.

Volunteers must be 18 or over, and fit and well with no symptoms, so I can’t do it yet, but I can’t wait to sign up ASAP, and be able to give something back after feeling so useless stuck here in this flat.


Stay safe everyone 👍

4 thoughts on “Day 6. Looking up

    1. 😊 I’m very lucky to have such wonderful friends and neighbours.
      How are things for you in these strange times Ruth? Hope that cough came to nothing…

      Like

      1. Yes, the cough is still there but much improved, and I feel well. Went out for a walk today, and got really irritated by the number of people who pass you within less than 6 feet. Mainly runners and cyclists 🙄 people still not taking it seriously.

        I’ve just been contacted by the GMC asking if I’d be willing to return to work as a GP. I’ve said yes.

        Like

        1. I’ve just been watching a couple down in the street below meet a friend of theirs – did a foot-shake greeting but then proceeded to stand a couple of feet from each other to chat for 20 minutes 🙄

          Best of luck with your return to front line action Ruth – I admire you tremendously for answering the call, it’s a wonderful thing that you’re doing. x👍

          Like

Leave a comment